Do I need a visa to Hungary?

Students, who have already been accepted to CSI, may receive an official invitation letter from CSI upon request. Visitors have to request visa by themselves, asking for a tourist visa, however there will be no official invitation letter sent by CSI (except if you are an accompanying parent joining your child at CSI). Thank you for your understanding.

In case you are a student, your application has been accepted and you need a visa to travel to Hungary, please write to, giving your personal details so that we can send you an invitation letter and a confirmation of accomodation.

PLEASE NOTE: You can apply for the visa not earlier than 90 days before your arrival, therefore, you can send us your request with your personal details from the beginning of April.

The following information is needed to prepare the necessary documents:
Your full name (as presented in your ID/passport) / Your mother's name / Date and place of your birth / Nationality / ID/Passport No. / Address in ID/passport.
Please also send us your planned arrival day to Hungary and departure day from Hungary (in case you would like to plan for a few days of sightseeing).

Please read the information below carefully.

Whether or not you need a visa to Hungary depends on a variety of factors: your nationality, the purpose and the expected duration of your stay, as well as other things like family relations and your employment status.

Hungary joined the Schengen Area on 21 December, 2007. From that time visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States are valid also for Hungary, and visas/residence permits  issued by Hungarian authorities are - as a general rule - also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

As of December 19th  2011, 26 states are part of the Schengen Area: 22 states of the 28 members of the European Union (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) as well as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein. (For the time being 6 member states of the European Union, i.e. Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom do not issue Schengen visas.)

The Schengen regulations are only applicable for a stay not exceeding 90 days. Rules for a stay longer than 90 days are laid down by the national law of the member states concerned.

For additional info info pls visit: Hungary Consular Services website  and  Detailed information on Short Term Visa